All Saints Parish, Brookline Honors Deborah Little Wyman

United States

See map:

All Saints Parish (1773 Beacon Street) in Brookline will present its 13th annual All Saints Parish Spirituality and Justice Award to the Rev. Dr. Deborah Little Wyman, founder of Ecclesia Ministries and Common Cathedral, on Sunday, June 6, during the 10:30 a.m. Holy Eucharist.  Wyman will be the preacher at this service.  The public is invited.

Wyman has worked with homeless people, ministers, outreach and mental health workers and others in the United States, Brazil and the United Kingdom to create a spiritual community outdoors.  Fifteen years ago, she founded the Common Cathedral, an outdoor church for the homeless in Boston.  She founded Ecclesia Mission Affiliates, a network of some 100 street ministries in cities around the country that is inspired and supported by Common Cathedral.  For information, please contact
The Spirituality and Justice Award is given to persons whose notable commitment to justice for all of God’s people is grounded in a deep spiritual life.  Nominees are persons from all faith traditions who have significantly contributed to the furtherance of justice and whose work has been informed by their own deep spirituality.  The Rev. Dr. David A. Killian, Rector of All Saints, said in a statement announcing the award:  “The presentation of the award is a special time each year as All Saints Parish lifts up an outstanding person for recognition by the community.  As we honor these distinguished persons we draw strength from their example.  They inspire us to renew our commitment to justice as an essential expression of our spirituality and faith.”

In past years the award was presented to Bishop Barbara C. Harris (1998); Bishop Simon E. Chiwanga (1999); Bishop M. Thomas Shaw, SSJE (2000); Bishop Steven Charleston (2001); Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu (2002); Dr. Yang Jianli and Ms. Christina Fu (2003); The Rev. Dr. Margaret Bullitt-Jonas (2004); Bishop V. Gene Robinson (2005); The Hon. Byron Rushing (2006); Peter Stringham, M.D. (2007); Paul Farmer, M.D. (2008); and Marian Wright Edelman (2009).

All are invited to the June 6 service at 10:30 a.m.  A reception will follow.  For more information, consult the parish’s Web site: