Standing Committee announces bishop search timeline and Nominating Committee members

Episcopal Diocese of Massachusetts Bishop Nominating Committee group photo Courtesy photo The Nominating Committee was given its charge from the Standing Committee while gathered on Aug. 12, 2023, at the Church of the Redeemer in Chestnut Hill.  Members, pictured from left, are:  Nick Myers, Michael Bent, Christopher Fike, Ema Rosero-Nordalm, Kim Garrison, Billy Boyce, Olivia Jaynes, Linda Ouellette, Diane Wong, David Sullivan, Claudette Hunt, Sarah Mato, Joseph Mumita, Derrick Muwina and Clark Warner.

As an update on the bishop search and election process that is now underway in the Diocese of Massachusetts, the diocesan Standing Committee has announced the names of those who will serve on the Nominating Committee and has made available an initial timeline.

The timeline includes May 18, 2024, as the election date and Oct. 19, 2024, as the date for the ordination and consecration of the new bishop.  The timeline is posted on the diocesan website at, where it will be updated as necessary.

The newly formed Nominating Committee received its charge from the Standing Committee during a retreat gathering on Aug. 12 at the Church of the Redeemer in Chestnut Hill.  

The Nominating Committee will shepherd the diocese through the initial phase of the bishop election process by conducting listening sessions and surveys, creating a diocesan profile, soliciting and vetting applications, and finally presenting a slate of candidates to the Standing Committee.  A Transition Committee will then steer the next phase of the election process.  

Nominating Committee members are:

  • Michael Bent, St. Peter's Church, Beverly
  • The Rev. Christopher Fike, St. Elizabeth's Church, Wilmington
  • Kim Garrison, Grace Church, Vineyard Haven
  • Claudette Hunt, St. Andrew's Church, Ayer
  • Olivia Jaynes, St. Paul's Church, Natick
  • The Rev. Sarah Mato, Parish of St. John the Evangelist, Hingham
  • The Rev. Joseph Mumita, St. Thomas's Church, Taunton
  • The Rev. Derrick Muwina, St. Peter's Church Cambridge
  • The Rev. Nick Myers, Parish of the Epiphany, Winchester
  • The Rev. Ema Rosero-Nordalm, Allston-Brighton
  • David Sullivan, Emmanuel Church, Wakefield
  • Clark Warner, St. Bartholomew's Church, Cambridge

The Nominating Committee co-chairs, announced in July, are the Rev. Diane Wong of St. John's Church in Arlington, Linda Ouellette of St. Michael's Church in Holliston and William Boyce of Grace Church in New Bedford.   

"The Standing Committee in consultation with the Nominating Committee co-chairs are excited to present the full Nominating Committee to the diocese," the Standing Committee's president, Louise Gant, and vice president, the Rev. Kathryn Elledge, said in making the announcement. "We are grateful to all who put forward an application.  It signifies your commitment to the future of this diocese. Prayerfully and carefully, the Standing Committee deliberated on the responsibility of this particular committee to identify the skills, gifts, experiences necessary in accomplishing all that is before them in a collaborative and Spirit-filled manner.  Again, thank you to everyone who applied to be on the Nominating Committee and please accept the Standing Committee's heartfelt gratitude." 

Additionally, the Rev. Ginger Solaqua has been named chaplain to the Nominating Committee. Solaqua currently serves as the priest-in-charge at the Church of Our Redeemer in Lexington and as a colleague at the Bethany House of Prayer in Arlington. Through Bethany House, she served as part of the team of chaplains to the Bishop Transition Committee in the Episcopal Church in Connecticut and regularly leads retreats for parishes and groups. She moved to the Diocese of Massachusetts two years ago, after serving in the dioceses of California and New York and the Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe.

Visit for information and updates. In addition, the Standing Committee welcomes e-mail inquiries at