Positions to be filled by Election at 2018 Diocesan Convention November 3, 2018

Members of Standing Committee:

1 clerical and 1 lay member for 4-year terms

The Standing Committee is an elected body of members of the laity and clergy serving as a council of advice to the bishop; it must consent to certain actions of the bishop and in rare occasions becomes the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese.

The Standing Committee usually meets on the second Thursday of each month September through June. The committee's duties include: working with the Commission on Ministry, helping to screen applicants seeking postulancy, approving candidacies and recommending candidates for ordination to the diaconate and priesthood; advising on any changes of parish bylaws, Stokes Fund loans to parishes and any encumbrance or sale of church property, including applications for Massachusetts Historical Society grants; approving the admission of parishes or missions into union with the Diocesan Convention; and assisting the bishop in responding appropriately to parishes in conflict.

Members of the Diocesan Disciplinary Board:

2 clerical members for 3-year terms 1 lay member for a 3-year term

The Disciplinary Board is an elected body of members of the clergy and laity whose purpose is to carry out the requirements of the national (Title IV) and diocesan canons concerning ecclesiastical discipline. Members of the board may be assigned to conference panels that pursue less formal steps towards reconciliation and/or to hearing panels that conduct more formal hearings in response to complaints of alleged offenses. The clerical members shall be deacons or priests and must be canonically resident in this diocese.

Treasurer of the Diocese:

for a 1-year term

The diocesan treasurer, elected annually by the Convention, is the chief financial officer of the corporation, with constitutional and canonical responsibilities that include care and custody of the funds and valuable papers of the diocese; preparation of an assessment formula for review by the Diocesan Council; and, together with the Diocesan Council, preparation of a diocesan budget. The treasurer is a member of Diocesan Council and historically serves as a member of or participant in various Diocesan Council committees, including: the Executive Committee, the Financial Advisory Committee, the Budget Committee, the Loan Committee and the Audit Committee. The by-laws of the Trustees of Donations identify the diocesan treasurer as an exofficio trustee. Active participation in these committees can involve 50 or more meetings per year. The treasurer is supported by the Treasurer's Office staff, including the assistant treasurer, who currently reports to the canon to the ordinary and with whom the treasurer needs to have a productive and collaborative working relationship.

Secretary of the Diocese:

for a 1-year term

The secretary of the diocese takes part in planning, preparation and execution of Convention and at Convention assists the bishop with the running of the legislative sessions. The secretary's office receives all resolutions, amendments and official written business, and sees that all materials required by canon are mailed to clergy and lay members of Convention. (There will be an assistant secretary on staff to assist with the administration of this office). He or she is official signatory of Convention correspondence. He or she is an officer of the diocese and as such is a member of the Diocesan Council. The time commitment includes monthly Diocesan Council meetings, attendance at Convention, meetings as needed to plan Convention and a meeting during the week of Convention to review the detailed order of business.

Cathedral Chapter:

1 clerical and 1 lay member for 3-year terms ending in January 2021

The Cathedral Chapter is the corporation for the Cathedral Church of St. Paul and includes the bishop, bishop suffragan, dean, canons, chancellor and treasurer of the cathedral, three priests and three lay persons elected by the Diocesan Convention, three lay persons elected by the Cathedral Chapter and two lay persons elected by the cathedral congregation.

The Cathedral Chapter is entrusted with the administration of the affairs, temporal and spiritual, of the cathedral as the official seat and spiritual home of the bishop and the center of diocesan work and worship.

Members of the Board of Directors of the Barbara C. Harris Center:

2 members (clerical or lay) for 3-year terms

The Barbara C. Harris Center Board of Directors includes 12 at-large members, six of whom are elected at Diocesan Convention, and three ex-officio members. Regular meetings of the board will be held no less than quarterly and may meet as often as monthly. The board is charged with oversight of the entire management of the business and affairs of the center, including setting the operational policy, goals and objectives of the center. Members' responsibilities and duties include: supporting the organization's mission and working vigorously to accomplish it; developing and maintaining communication links throughout the diocese and to other potential clients outside the diocese which enhance the public image of the center and increase revenues both earned and contributed; attending board meetings; participating in both short and long-term planning; serving on committees as needed; supporting and evaluating the performance of the conference center director; evaluating and enacting recommendations to enhance the performance of the center; acting as stewards of the center's natural and physical resources and facilities of the camp; providing adequate resources for the enhancement and growth of the center's operations and activities by making a personal commitment to assist with all center fundraising programs; and serving and governing subject to the policies of the diocese.

Deputies and Alternate Deputies to Provincial Synod:

1 lay and 1 clerical deputy for 3-year terms (ending in 2021) 1 lay alternate for a 2-year term (ending in 2020)

Deputies represent our diocese in the Provincial Synod of Province I comprising the dioceses of New England. The Provincial Synod meets twice annually and conducts all legislative and budgetary work of the province. Alternates serve in their place in the case of inability to attend or a vacancy.

Trustees of Donations:

1 member (clerical or lay) for a 5-year term

The Trustees of Donations is an affiliated organization of the diocese which was established in 1810 to manage trust and other financial assets of the diocese. In 1939 the Diocesan Investment Trust was established under a declaration of trust as an investment vehicle for those funds and was made available to parishes and other church organizations.

Membership includes 25 persons, three of whom are elected each year by the trustees for a five-year term, one appointed each year by the bishop for a five-year term, and one elected each year by Convention for a five-year term. The trustees meet quarterly to review the performance of the funds managed by the managers with whom they have contracted.